Maptek awards University of Adelaide mine design trophy for 2014

Wednesday, September 24th, 2014

Maptek has presented the award for Best Mine Design to four final year Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) students at University of Adelaide. The perpetual trophy was first awarded in 2010 and marks the culmination of the students’ final year.

Maptek first became involved with the University of Adelaide about 10 years ago to implement Vulcan subjects within the B Eng (Mining) degree. Students work in small groups to design and plan a mine using Vulcan software to complete their studies.

The project is presented as a 10 minute presentation and accompanied by a written report. Vulcan Technical Services Manager, Richard Buckley, presided on the judging panel this year. 

The Maptek Mine Design prize is awarded to the best design taking into account ease of mining and efficiency.

Winning mine design team at Adelaide University

Winning mine design team at Adelaide University

The winners this year include Maptek scholarship recipients, Jesse Jones and Will Thurlow.

  • Media Relations
  • For additional information about Maptek, including use of the Maptek logo, product images and reproduction of case studies, please direct inquiries to Global Marketing Communications Manager